Weekly Photo Challenge – Partners

Four Eyes Butterfly Fish

Four Eyes Butterfly Fish

Always in pairs, Butterfly fish flit around the reef feeding on coral polyps. Observing their behavior, it’s easy to see where they get their name. I love seeing these little guys, and in the Caribbean one can find several different species.

I’ve been trying for years to get a great shot of a pair of them as they’re always swimming together, but they move so fast, it’s really tough to get them in the same frame. While I did get both of them in the frame here, I’m still trying to get a great shot…maybe when we go to Belize later this year.

To learn more about the Weekly Photo Challenge, click here.

12 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Partners

  1. […] LargeSelf Weekly Photo Challenge – Partners […]

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    That is a remarkable shot since they move so fast. Yep, it’s easy to see where they get their name. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Brigitte says:

    I love this shot Cathy! Isn’t this the “Dory” fish in Finding Nemo? We’re these that beautiful blue color? Happy weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cathy Ulrich says:

      Hi Brigitte! No, Dory is a Regal Blue Tang. I’ve seen them in salt-water aquariums but never in the wild as they come from the South Pacific (maybe some day!). We are talking about trying to get to the Philippines to go diving at some point, so hopefully I’ll get to see Dory in her natural environment and take her portrait then! 🙂

      These Four Eyes Butterfly Fish are white, yellow and black. Happy weekend to you!

      Like

  4. marydpierce says:

    I don’t know, it seems like a really great shot to me. I love the texture in this photo, and the fleeting look of the little guy in the lead, with the other one trailing — hey, wait for me! It made my day, Cathy. Thanks, for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cathy Ulrich says:

      Thank you, Mary. And interesting that you would notice the texture. It was actually a happy accident as this shot was taken on the first dive of the trip and somehow the ISO got set on 2000 instead of 200. I realized it after the dive and fixed it, but I kindof like the graininess of this one, especially in black and white! I’m not sure I would do it on purpose very often, though. 🙂

      Like

  5. Beautiful photo; would you mind sharing the color version as well? 🙂

    Like

  6. litadoolan says:

    Superb detail. Super catch !

    Like

  7. Peta Kaplan says:

    Lovely pic! Thanks

    Like

  8. aFrankAngle says:

    Running way late …. but wow … that pic caused a double take! 🙂

    Like

Feel free to leave a comment, you know you want to...

