Merchandising

Sunflowers

Sunflowers

Walking into Whole Foods,
I saw these…
Hundreds of them.

An island of sun
in the main entrance.
How could I walk around them
ignoring their light
as they beckoned me
to pick a bunch
or two?

Navigating my way through
narrow aisles with large flowers
in a small cart,
sharing the space
with orange cauliflower and Rapini
I managed to keep them safe
before transporting them home.

Beautiful heads
on sturdy stems
smiling for the camera…

12 comments on “Merchandising

  1. vastlycurious.com says:

    Beautifully sunny! I took some in a Framers market myself! Almost posted them yesterday but saving it for a rainy day!

    Like

  2. Brigitte says:

    First of all, going into Whole Foods just puts you in a good mood! We have Trader Joes here as well and everyone seems to always be in a good mood there too. And the flowers — beautiful! I love sunflowers, they were my Dad’s favorite. He had a big garden with big and small sunflowers. They are such happy flowers — like little faces just smiling up at you. The detail is just stunning, Cathy.

    P.S. (how do you put that copyright and name on your pics?)

    Like

    • Cathy Ulrich says:

      Brigitte,
      I know! I love Whole Foods! There’s always something new and fun to discover there. And what a blessing to be able to get so many wonderful foodstuffs for a consummate cook! As I read your comment, it occurred to me that perhaps I got to be an instrument of communication for you today. Maybe your Dad was sending you a wink?

      I use Lightroom for storing and processing my photos and I can create a watermark that is placed on the photo when it’s exported from Lightroom for uploading. It’s also possible to do this with Photoshop or Elements by simply adding the watermark with a text box, making the text white and then lowering the opacity of the text.

      Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

      Cathy

      Like

  3. What a cracking post –
    those flowers are so gorgeous
    I could eat them up!

    Like

  4. Athena Brady says:

    I love Sunflowers they are so gorgeous.

    Like

  5. lsdfloodlight says:

    A beautiful poem, abundant emotion emotions. The sunflower takes a positive, we do need this constantly striving to be stronger in the face of life and difficulties

    Like

  6. Lily Mugford says:

    I was immediately attracted to your photo. Sunflowers, daisies, black eyed susan, they all rank among y favorites. The rich colours always make me smile

    Like

Feel free to leave a comment, you know you want to...