Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual POV 2

Steinway in the Grotto

Steinway in the Grotto

I just wanted to share a shot of the Steinway IN the Grotto from my previous post, just to prove to you that they do carry the piano into this wilderness place for the concert!

To learn more about the Moab Music Festival, click here.

To learn more about the Weekly Photo Challenge, click here.

32 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual POV 2

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    Don’t see a grand piano in that location every day. Talk about a juxtaposition. 🙂

    Like

  2. love to see things out of their normal habitat

    Like

  3. Poor thing, it looks kind of vulnerable out there. I’m totally picturing an evil cello sneaking up on it.

    “Behind you! It’s BEHIND you!! 😛

    Like

  4. Brigitte says:

    This is one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen. This one is for framing, Cathy!

    Like

  5. mimijk says:

    The sound must be absolutely fabulous – the location certainly is!

    Like

    • Cathy Ulrich says:

      Mimi,
      I don’t think I could have imagined how amazing the sound was until I heard it. Quieter than any place I’ve ever been. The music director – Michael Barrett – was also the pianist for this performance and he asked everyone to observe the absolute lack of sound in the place for about two minutes before the first note was played…an astounding contrast!
      Cathy

      Like

  6. […] Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual POV 2 (largeself.com) […]

    Like

  7. Athena Brady says:

    Hi Cathy, what an unusual setting but fabulous too.

    Like

  8. marydpierce says:

    Love, love this shot. All I can think of, though, is that poor piano. So much dust and dirt on such a beautiful instrument. It reminds me of a group I happened upon a few years ago in my internet meanderings. Tanariwen. There a Tuareg group who dragged all their recording equipment into the Sahara Desert to make their last album, Tassili.

    Like

    • Cathy Ulrich says:

      I know! All that dust and dirt has to take its toll, but it was beautiful and sounded beautiful too! The program for this concert included a string quintet – The Schumann Cello Quintet in which the first violinist played a 1711 Stradivarius and apparently the “youngest” instrument in that group was made around 1820! Most of the musicians were Julliard grads. So the piano was in good company. Thanks so much for sharing the video, Mary!

      Like

  9. unfetteredbs says:

    I’m so glad you followed up with this photo. Nice!

    Like

  10. […] Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual POV 2 « LargeSelf […]

    Like

  11. So cool!! I only wish my Mom were still around. I would love to have taken her to a concert there.

    Like

    • Cathy Ulrich says:

      Thanks, Susan. Any music lover would enjoy this experience, both for the adventure and the sheer excellence of the music. I got to take my sister to this one and it was so wonderful to share it with her.

      Like

  12. vastlycurious.com says:

    Just a great POV Cathy ! I wish I could hear it play!

    Like

  13. Fabulous photo. And kudos to whoever managed to transport that beautiful Steinway to such a rugged place. Love your take on Unusual POV.

    Like

    • Cathy Ulrich says:

      Thank you, Persephone! I think that most of the work for the Moab Music Festival is done by volunteers! And they do a fabulous job! And get this: they do it three times during the two-week festival!

      Like

  14. Bastet says:

    Sorry I didn’t get to see this until today…fantastically oneirical!

    Like

  15. […] Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual POV 2 « LargeSelf […]

    Like

  16. […] Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual POV 2 « LargeSelf […]

    Like

  17. […] Weekly Photo Challenge – Unusual POV 2 « LargeSelf […]

    Like

Feel free to leave a comment, you know you want to...